The end of the year is here! As you wrap up classes and grades for your students, we have a list of 4 tips for you to use when planning what's next and staying ahead of the game.

In this article, you'll learn how to:

  1. Create a custom assessment
  2. Export your grades
  3. Clean up your class list
  4. Review your copied classes

1. Create a Custom Assessment 

Do you need to create a final exam or other summative assessment for your students?

The Custom Exam tool gives you the ability to create a customized exam using the AES questions from quizzes and tests within our modules.

You can further customize your exam by modifying the AES questions or enter your own questions into the system!

Once you've created an exam, you can copy your custom exam to other class periods, so you don’t have to start from scratch. Teachers often copy the exam to all their classes and then go into each class to modify it.

Overall, any custom exams you create will be summative assessments in AES, that are designed to give students one attempt.


2. Export Your Grades

Need to export your grades to enter them into your school gradebook?

You can export your student grades from AES in two ways:

  • A class-wide export of all module averages
  • An export of individual module assessment grades

Once your grades are exported to Excel, they are easy to manipulate and configure to your liking.

You can give assignments different weight, add columns for additional assignments or participation points, and more!

Learn all the features and options of the AES Gradebook here!

3. Clean Up Your Class List

When you come back next school year, you'll want to quickly jump in and get started.

Teachers tell us it is easier to find current classes, assignments, and students when inactive classes are removed from their My Classes tab.

You can remove inactive classes from this view in two ways:

Reset a class if you need to use the same assignments again with different students. Resetting a class will give you a copy of the class and delete your original, all in one step.

If you have completely new courses and don’t need your previous classes any more, then deleting the class is the way to go. Delete a class and it will no longer be accessible by students, the student “seats” are freed up, and it keeps your My Classes tab current and organized.

NOTE: You will never truly delete any of the information from classes!

Restore a class if you ever need to review how it was set up, see the grades again, or want to review account information for a returning student.

For more information on cleaning up your class list, read this article!

4. Review Your Copied Classes

Copying and resetting a class can save you a lot of time. You have a new class that is cleared of previous students and grades.

However, it's important to remember all the assignments, class settings, and due dates will copy over, too!

To ensure nothing surprises you with your next group of students, we recommend asking yourself some of these questions:

Need help reviewing these settings before heading into the next school year? Start a chat! We are happy to help!

Did this answer your question?